Most rolls are made using one six-sided die, referred to as a “d6”. The way you calculate the final result of a roll is as follows: d6 + (Trait or Skill) ± modifiers = result. When a player is talking about what actions they want their character to perform, everything said is understood to be theoretical until the player confirms their character's intent to perform an action. Players should be brief and get any information that the GM has to offer, including clarifications on rules, before committing to an action.

When a character does something, the player may describe an interesting detail or stylistic flourish to add some flavor to the event. The GM may occasionally give a +1XP bonus for creativity.

Success (S)

Rolling and achieving a result higher than a target Difficulty (#) is called a Success. Most of the time it will only be important that you beat the #. Simply tell the GM “Succeed” or “Fail” after adding up the result of your roll. For opposed rolls (such as Stealth vs Perception), re-roll ties.

ATK rolls are one exception where the amount by which you Succeed is important. DMG is calculated based on how much higher your ATK is than your target's DEF. So, for example, if your ATK roll on a d6 is a 4 and your Skill (Melee or Projectile) is 6, then your ATK result is 10. The result of 10 is compared to the target's DEF roll, say a Dodge roll with a result of 5 DEF. Your ATK result of 10 is 5 greater than the 5 DEF and so your DMG will have a +5 bonus to reflect that you did very well. Then add your base weapon DMG rating to the +5DMG from your Successful ATK roll. See Ch:5.


If your bonus alone before rolling your d6 is greater than the # and the circumstances are not stressful (such as in combat or any other situation in which failure could be very serious or cause DMG), Success is automatic.

Fail (F)

When the result is equal to or below the #, this means your attempt did not work. This is not usually catastrophic but rather just a temporary inconvenience in most cases. For opposed rolls (like a Skill vs Skill), re-roll any ties.

Botch ([1])

If you roll 1, re-roll to check for a Botch. If 1 is rolled again, the roll is a Botch and something very bad happens. This is usually a broken weapon on an ATK or Block. If any other number is rolled after the first 1 roll, that number is ignored and the result is 1 + modifiers to the attempted roll. You cannot [1] on a Critical roll. Skills usually list [1] effects. The GM may add more negative effects due to particular circumstances surrounding a [1].

Critical ([6])

When a 6 is rolled on a Trait, Skill, DMG, or Loot roll, roll it again and again, as long as you keep rolling 6's. Add each roll together for your result. This a Critical. Rolling 1 as the last in a series of Critical rolls is not a [1].